Jeimuzu and the Sea-Glass: A Folk Tale

illustrated story with signatures sewn into a concertina spine, 6 x 8 1/2, edition of 30, 2013

Jeimuzu and the Sea-Glass: A Folk Tale is an original short story about an old man’s sea journey and his surprising discovery on a distant shore. I wrote Jeimuzu and the Sea-Glass: A Folk Tale in 2009; in this story, one of the main characters, the old man Jeimuzu, bears the spirit of my late father, who was a traveler, farmer, artist, and adventurer who moved from rural Appalachia to live and work in Japan for the last twenty-five years of his life. The primary purpose of this project lies in my curiosity about the connections between Appalachian and Japanese cultures; by researching the cultural and geographical similarities between these two locations, I hope to discover a deeper connection between my father and me. The story contains vivid descriptions of landscape, and I use these descriptions to draw parallels between the natural environment in which I grew up with my father, and the environment in which I came to know him later in life.

Leave a Reply

